Sign on
Jane Austen
Dates: British, 1775 - 1817
Biographical Account:

Austen is famous as the author of six romantic novels: ‘Sense and Sensibility’, ‘Pride and Prejudice’, ‘Mansfield Park’ and ‘ Emma’  were published between 1811 and 1815 and two more books, ‘Northanger Abbey’ and ‘Persuasion’ were published in 1818 after her death.


Austen was educated at home at her father’s rectory, and began writing at an early age. The six published novels form only a small fraction of her written output. She published her novels anonymously and they were reasonably successful during her lifetime and in the 1800s. Today she is regarded as one of the foremost English writers.

gPowered byeMuseum

Museums Sheffield

Trying something new can be a little bit scary, but what a great feeling when you make the connection. We're trying new things all the time and we want you to try them too, so come with us and we'll help connect you with art, nature, history, ideas - and each other.

Jump in. Discover something new.

Explore our site